Welcome


Hi. My name is Matt Wiggins and I am a journalist…at least, I want to be.  I have been in what can be described as “journalism education” for the past four years.  I graduated from Kingston University with a credible degree in journalism and, following a number of unsuccessful interviews, decided to embark on my NCTJ preliminaries in January, of which I am in the final stretch.

I created this blog in the hope of documenting some of my experiences in the two forms of training and my views on their merits and downfalls. I also want to share my success (or lack thereof) in my pursuit of that elusive first full-time journalism job.  And of course, there will be a few other debates and journalism opinions thrown in along the way.

Well, here’s hoping that this little introduction has served to whet your appetite just enough to bring you back for my first proper post, “Degree v NCTJ”, coming soon.

Leave a Reply

